Canadian Tax Return - Working on US pay roll - Staying in Montreal

I have moved to Montreal from US on September 2020, I am still on my US payroll being paid in USD. I have paid my taxed in US. I am trying to figure out a way to pay taxes in Canada. Both FED and Province Tax (Quebec).

I have stayed in Canada for 120 days in 2020. Do I still have to pay taxes in Canada?

Please advice if you have any recommendation for Tax service in Montreal?

Appreciate your help. Thanks in Advance.

I’m a Canadian/Quebec CPA with considerable international tax experience, (Although I don’t specialize in personal income tax), but I wouldn’t dream of doing my own personal return under these circumstances. There are far too many permutations and pitfalls involved … and there are differences depending on which province and state you reside in. Bite the bullet and give your personal return to a qualified international personal income tax professional. The potential cost of doing it wrong is significant. It can be difficult to evaluate just who is qualified to handle this matter because most tax services will claim to know all about the convoluted regulations governing cross border transactions … but they don’t. Go to one of the big four firms (Deloitte, KPMG, Ernst & Young, PWC), or at least to the next tier, BDO or Grant Thornton for example. All have offices in Montreal. It may cost you more, but you will save money in the end, and you’ll dodge the bullet of unintended consequences. It’s unwise attempt this yourself.

1 Like