Data Science Opportunities

Hi, I am a senior data analyst in Chicago, planning to move to Canada in 2021. I wanted to get some suggestions from the community on how is the market for Data science roles in Canada. Particularly,
What cities have more opportunities in this field?
What is the pay scale like? I am a master’s graduate from US and have 4 YOE.

I admit I am in my initial phases of research on this topic but gotta start from somewhere. Would appreciate the time taken to respond.

1 Like

Montreal rocks in AI/ML/Deep learning. Toronto is good for data analysts/Data Engineers. Edmonton is also coming up in the race. Did you get your PR? It’s easy to get a job with PR. Thanks

If you don’t forsee having any Canadian employment lined up when you move (not the best scenario), it makes sense to go where the jobs are, start with the major cities/hubs - Toronto, Montreal, Ottawa/Kanata, Kitchener-Waterloo, Vancouver, Edmonton/Calgary. Al these cities have lots of data science and other tech opportunities. Look at job boards - LinkedIn, MovNorth (this very website), Indeed, etc. In particular, reach out to your professional network in Canada.

Another thing to consider - with COVID accelerating remote work opportunities, you can also weigh in your personal preferences - where would you like to live?

Hi @sumeetkukreja,

I am moving to Vancouver from Seattle. I accepted an offer there recently. I have not explored much in other areas as my wife and I want to settle in Vancouver. From my initial research I can say Toronto & Montreal definitely has more AI/ML jobs. Fortunately, I was able to interview with 3 companies (after applying to about 10 jobs) and receive 2 offers. Also as ak45 mentioned many companies are okay with remote work. One of the companies I interviewed was based in Toronto and they were okay with me working from Vancouver.