Looking for jobs in Canada from the US - post COPR

Hi All,

I just had my application/COPR approved. I am based in the US right now and had already been looking for jobs in Canada from here prior to approval, but no luck so far.

Other than the usual routes of referrals, it being a numbers game etc - was wondering if anyone had any tips specific to finding a job there from the US, from their experience. One thing I can think of is indicating on my resume that I have Canadian work authorization might help.

I am open to all major cities and my background is software Product Management. Ideally would love to land there with a job in hand or close to it.

Thanks!

Having ā€œPermanent Residentā€ status written on the resume definitely helps (at least here in Canada, based on my experience)! But wait till you actually land, in case interviewer asks for proof of PR.

Referrals are the best way to get a foot in the door here, unlike the US job market. But depending on your field, you should be able to get interview calls without referrals as well. LinkedIn premium, contacting HR persons on LinkedIn for your desirable workplace etc also helps.

3 Likes

Hi All,
Iā€™m following this post! Is there any updates sun?
Iā€™m looking for a data analyst position. Any piece of information will be helpful.

Thanks!

I got super lucky and landed a job before moving - got my foot in due to recommendations from a past boss to the hiring manager. Having PR did make it easier, but the ā€˜putting it on resumeā€™ thing didnā€™t really apply in my case.

Hi @avj : I am looking for job opportunities in Montreal, QC ( or remote jobs for any other location within Canada). I am not getting any response from Linkedin. So, wanted to reach out to this community for any tips or referrals?