Move to Toronto and keep working for US employer

I am an engineer who has been working from home as a F/T employee with benefits and want to move to Toronto and continue working for that US-based company. Is that possible? What steps do I need to take?

3 Likes

You’ll need to ask your company if they’re willing to let you work remotely.

Make sure you work out your tax situation with your company as well. The simplest situation would be if your company has a Canadian entity and can pay you via that, it’s slightly more complex ( but definitely feasible ) if they only have a US entity and the US entity pays you.

Hi Karthik,
I am also wondering about this. My employer will let me work remotely for sure but they dont have Canadian entity so do you know what are the complexities involved in such a scenario?

You can form your own LLC in Canada (costs a few hundred CAD) and work as contractor for your company or the company can set up a subsidiary for you in Canada and pay through that (might be more complex). I’m not sure how the US taxes will work in either scenario, but you will definitely have to pay Canadian taxes.

@vik might know about this.

1 Like

I was typing up the tax situation being the most complex issue with regard to this Work from Home scenario.
Based on the way I understand this, if you are paid via the US entity you would have to pay taxes to US Govt. Now you will be working in Canada so you would have to pay local taxes as well.

I’m no tax expert, but I think if your company is willing to let you work from home in Canada, when time comes it would be wise to see if the company has any employers that have done this in the past. Also see if they have done this process in the past.

1 Like

Whatever @vignesh.pr said. Also, if I were you I’d spend some $$ consulting a professional so that you avoid headaches in the future.