Non-IT/tech folks - advice

Hello everyone,

I am a biologist currently working in academia in the US and am in the process of getting the coveted Canadian PR. I have been a long-time lurker of this community and have benefitted from the many useful discussions in this forum. However, I noticed that a lot of the posters here are from a IT/tech background. I am curious about the experiences of the non- IT/tech members of the community. For those who have already moved, how was the transition? For those who are planning to move, what are you plans? I greatly appreciate any input!

1 Like

Unfortunately, I don’t think you’re going to get many non-techies to respond here :slight_smile: I have a PhD and work in a similar field like you (in industry). I’ve applied to several positions and made it to the final round each time. Haven’t had any luck so far in getting an offer. I’ve also applied to positions in major schools in Canada (low salary but excellent benefits) like U Alberta and Uni of Toronto. Both times I was provided detailed information on the benefits provided and asked to submit references names but they ended up hiring locals for those positions. It was disappointing but I’m staying strong and continuing to interview for corporate/academic positions.

Strangely I haven’t had any trouble in getting interviews and cold emailing the hiring manager directly with a well-structured email explaining my strengths for any positions has worked out in my favor. It’s a tough situation because I have a ton of contacts in the US and could find new jobs tomorrow in my field if I wanted to live here long-term. I have no contacts whatsoever in my field in Canada and the specific jobs in my area are extremely few (think 100’s of jobs in NYC vs 4-5 jobs in Toronto that pay 1/4th what I make now).

It’s a tough time but staying persistent is the only option! Wishing you best of luck.

1 Like