Canadian job prospects after quitting US job

Hello All

I am looking for some advice. I am currently working in California as a software engineer. Due to well-known H1B issues, I applied for Canadian PR. I was supposed to have gotten the PR by now, but it is delayed due to Covid-19. My plan was to start applying for jobs after I have the PR AND I get time for interview prep. I have 5 years of work experience and a PhD from a reputed US University.

Now, my current job is quite well-paying. However, it is an environment I am starting to deeply dislike. It’s long hours with extreme micro-management as well as uninteresting work. I am seriously considering just quitting without another job. I need around 30 full days of preparation to get another job and I hardly get 1 day a week for prep in current situation (job consumes 60-70 hours of work per week). I used to like my job a lot before, but recent change in management has put me in current situation.

Given the pandemic and H1B 60 day unemployment restriction, the smart thing to do is to just deal with it for 5-6 months, use the accumulated PTO for job prep and find another job in US/Canada (hopefully I get PR by then). If Canada job doesn’t work out due to bad economy or PR delay, switch to a different US company. However, I am worried about my mental and physical health. I am becoming bitter day-by-day, which is not my personality at all. I am seriously considering just quitting my job and trying to find another job in 2 months in US. If that doesn’t work, I am thinking of going back to India and find a job until I get a job in Canada. I have enough savings to last me 2 months w/o job in US, 1 year in India and 1 year in Canada without a job. I have a spouse who is a home-maker, no kids.

I have a few questions/requests:

1. When I apply for jobs in Canada, I am wondering if the employment break will be seen negatively?