Remote tech jobs in Canada

Jai Shri Ram MovNorth community.

I’m a software engineer in NYC at one of the FANG firms, my wife is a devops engineer in NJ. I’ve been in America for the last 5 years and they’ve been amazing but with no clear path to citizenship we’ve decided to move on. We’ve been thinking of immigrating to Canada for a while and a couple of years back started our PR application which culminated in Feb this year with us completing a soft landing. Life’s been moving at breakneck pace and a couple of months back we were blessed with our first child. With the arrival of the little one, having stability and permanence are now of paramount importance.

We don’t want to move to Toronto or Vancouver, to me it doesn’t make sense of moving from the grind of life in NYC to a smaller city with the same issues namely expensive housing, overcrowding and traffic. I’m not a huge fan of the winter on the east coast and if at all possible I’d like to not endure cold winters (I know about the clothing and have a good Canadian Goose jacket which keeps me toasty in the winter, but I still don’t enjoy winter). I had my mind made up to move to Calgary, we did our landing and US Visa processing there. I quite liked the city but the visit was in Feb and the weather there was between -15 and -35 the entire week we were there and the wife has vetoed Calgary. After more research we’ve agreed upon moving to Victoria if I can find a job there.

Apologies for that somewhat long and winded introduction/background context but moving onto point, there aren’t too many tech companies in Victoria, I’m researching the good ones there and will start applying to them in the upcoming week after sprucing up my resume. However given the limited pool of companies, I’m wondering if there are good tech companies that have a predominantly remote workforce or those with a presence in Canada and allow for remote work.