Express Entry application avoiding ECA for Bachelor's when MS highest

Hi ,

I noticed that your application was delayed due to the missing ECA for your bachelors degree, but on the CIC website it says we only need the ECA for highest level of education. I have a Masters degree and my husband has 2 Masters, do we need ECAs for all our Masters and Bachelors degree?

Thank you in advance!

At the time I applied I knew that only the highest degree was counted. What I did not know was that in order to avoid getting all ECAs I shouldā€™ve only added the highest degree at the beginning of filling out the EE profile, and added the remaining degrees as ā€œadditional informationā€ at the end of the application. I added all three at the beginning and this meant I was counting all 3 degrees and had to get ECAs for all 3.

5 Likes

Oh wow, this information is very useful as I believe many of us have included all degrees in the beginning. Itā€™s helpful to know in advance that we need to get ECAs for all the degrees in this case. Thank you so much!

1 Like

I think you meant ECAs for all the degrees are not requiredā€¦ Only highest degree is enoughā€¦ Right or what did you mean?

If you are counting all degrees toward the points you need ECAs for all.

The confusion comes from the fact that the CIC EE application does not explicitly state on itā€™s application web page that you need to add ONLY the highest degree in this section, and then add remaining (lower) degrees in some section at the end of the application. The first ā€œEducationā€ page I saw asked for my degrees so being the honest guy I added all 3 without realizing that this would mean ECAs for all.